Regional County Scholarship Expands to Nine Counties for Fall 2017 | Williston State College

to the top of the page
Home Page

Regional County Scholarship Expands to Nine Counties for Fall 2017

  Home  »  News »  

Regional County Scholarship Expands to Nine Counties for Fall 2017

Posted: Oct 24 2016

WILLISTON, N.D. - The WSC Foundation is proud to announce an expansion to the Regional County Scholarship to include Daniels, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan, and Valley counties in northeastern Montana.

The Regional County Scholarship was established February 2016 with four counties in northwestern North Dakota: Burke, Divide, McKenzie, and Mountrail.  

"It has long been a goal of our Foundation to help our regional students," stated Terry Olson, Executive Director of the WSC Foundation. "Eastern Montana is a great service area for WSC and we have a strong alumni base there. The time was right to include them. We are proud to be able to help reduce the cost of education for our regional students."  

Beginning Fall 2017 the scholarship will be available to eligible 2017 high school graduates and GEDs earned within Burke, Daniels, Divide, McKenzie, Mountrail, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan, and Valley Counties. Applications will be accepted on a first-come, first-serve basis and limited to allocated funds.  

The Foundation has also created housing scholarships to begin Fall 2017 for students to help offset the cost of living on campus.    

As of September 7, 2016 a total $800,659 has been awarded to 428 Regional and Williams County Graduate Scholarship recipients. These 428 students have contributed to WSC's second consecutive record-breaking enrollment for Fall 2015 and 2016 semesters.  

"An expansion of the WSC Foundation Regional County scholarship program into northeastern Montana is a natural extension of what has traditionally been a fertile recruitment region for the college, drawing on the close economic and cultural ties that have long existed between northeastern Montana and northwestern North Dakota," explained Dr. John Miller, Acting President of WSC. "More importantly, extending the Regional County Scholarship program into northeastern Montana offers more than 600 additional high school seniors an opportunity for an affordable college education."  

To apply, students must complete an Application for Admission and Application Fee by May 1, 2017. FAFSA forms must be completed and handed in before August 21, 2017. A Regional County Scholarship Application is no longer needed to apply.  

Students must maintain the following minimum requirements to keep the Regional County Scholarship: full-time status (12-16 credits); enrolled for up to four consecutive semesters (Fall 2017 to Spring 2019), excluding summer; a 2.0 term GPA; and enrollment in at least one on-campus course per semester.    

"This new scholarship is innovative and speaks highly of the work being done by Williston State College and the WSC Foundation to expand opportunities for students in their region," said NDUS Chancellor Mark Hagerott. "They will give more students in that area a chance at furthering their education and opportunities for success through one of our community colleges."   

The WSC Foundation encourages anyone interested in donating to contact them at 701.572.9275.

Williston State College Teton Mascot where the people make the difference